Training/Drills

Discussion in 'Self Defense' started by jamesdo72, Dec 1, 2017.

1. jamesdo72

jamesdo72 Active Member

Apologies if this is the wrong sub for this request.

I am new to concealed carry & am looking for range-friendly drills to prepare/train for a self-defense situation.

Obviously, I'll not ever duplicate panic/stress if a real-life gun battle, but if I can drill in some muscle memory around the basic fundamentals, theoretically it should improve the likelihood of survival/threat elimination.

Thank you in advance for any comments, suggestions, videos or links you might share.

2. PattonWasRight

PattonWasRight Well-Known Member

Props to you for asking

At the range, have a target sheet with multiple targets on it. Shoot two shots at each, quickly, and move to the next target on the sheet & shoot two shots at each and so on

When you can keep the hits in a fist sized group at 7 yards, at a rapid pace firing and transitioning to each target, u're a dangerous man. Use your support thumb and the knuckle of your strong hand as "pointers" and you'll find your sights line up more quickly and you may not even really need them at close distance.

Add some stress with a target with letters and numbers on it. Have a buddy call out the number or letter and get to it fast and shoot it accurately. The extra bit of ""surprise" is a helpful element

Don't mistake target range accuracy with SD accuracy ... as mentioned, a fist sized group is a good measure

Also, you can and should practice the heck out of your draw from concealment

Your life depends on that a lot more than a 3" versus a 5" group

He who shoots first tends to win

You can practice your draw at home and do it til it's ultra reliable and ultra fast. Incorporate a side step in your draw. Also practice drawing while moving backwards, sideways, from on the ground with one hand ... you get the idea