Top reasons citizens do not carry handguns

Discussion in 'Conceal & Open Carry' started by kxyx86, Jun 15, 2012.

1. kxyx86

kxyx86 New Member

As a police officer I am able to see who has a gun permit when conducting a traffic stop. Here is a surprising stat. I would guess that upwards of 90% of the people I pull over that have carry permits do not have their weapon. I encourage carrying at all times. What do feel are the main reasons people do not carry despite having a permit?

2. dutchs

dutchs Well-Known Member

Kxyx, If you would like as an LEO we have a special subforum for our LEO's and Military, If you would like, send a PM to HAVASU and he will set you up to be a part of it, And Thank you so much for your service!!

3. william488

william488 New Member

for me, I cannot carry to work, part of my contract I signed, that includes having a firearm on work property. Most of my traveling is done to and from work. When not working, I carry all the time.

4. kodiak

kodiak Active Member

They think they can predict when they will need to carry.

5. dutchs

dutchs Well-Known Member

As for your question, I have a permit and couldn't imagine going anywhere legal without my weapon anymore, but perhaps some people just forget or thought they wanted to carry and something has discouraged them from doing so. I for one though will always carry now.

6. SeventiesWreckers

SeventiesWreckers Load Bearing Wall

I'd just be guessing, 'cause I really have no idea. Perhaps a lack of self confidence, or spousal disapproval?

It's a good question. Have you ever asked any of them why they're not under arms?

7. Kmurray96

Kmurray96 Well-Known Member Supporter

1. In a rush
    2. Work some place where guns are prohibited
    3. Wearing clothes that day that don't cover well.
    4. Have the gun/CCW just for bragging
    5. Traveling to a non-recip state
    6. Lazy
    7. Stupid
    8. Just forgot to put it on.