Talk to me about the G31...

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by bunk22, Jul 10, 2012.

1. ....as I'm thinking about going with a Gen 4 G31, with a conversion barrel to shoot 9mm as well. I see the ammo is expensive but I don't shoot my G17 as much as my G19's so maybe once a month, keep a tac light on it and have it as my bed side gun. We go out to the beach and stay the night at times and I can bring it along of course. Looks good next to my 12 gauge :D

2. Danzig

Danzig I do hood rat sh%t! Supporter

Texas
    I have a 31 & a 33. Both are alot more snappier recoil wise. The advantage over the 9mm is penetration, almost meeting 357 magnum. I went .357 for traffic stops when I was a cop. Texas DPS had good results during testing. For home defense I don't think it would do anything better than the 17 or 19. Just my opinion.

3. laober

laober Member

I own a 32 along with my 17,19,26 family. The 19 is my bedside gun same as you. I agree with danzig, that for HD the 9mm Is a better choice because of penetration. The 32 is used as my winter carry gun, sweet round IMHO.
    If you have a 17 already, why get a conversion barrel for a 31? Spend the 150 on some more ammo. Just my thought, I have not had great success with conversions in the past.

4. I think sometimes, as I shoot a lot, I get a bit bored with the 9mm. Looking for something slightly different and this might fit the bill. Makes sense on the advice though.

5. laober

laober Member

It is a nice change of pace switching from 9 to 357.
    I only bring a box of sigs when I shoot, that way I don't go broke!

6. brutusvk

brutusvk New Member

I carry the 31 for work. (33 everywhere else) I am switching to the 32 though. Going to turn the 31 into my fun gun. I love the round. Pretty cheap to reload and more interesting to shoot than 9mm.