Steel Case Ammo

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by glocky804, Jan 3, 2012.

1. glocky804

glocky804 New Member

I see Tulammo at my local Walmart and Wolf ammo on line at several different websites and have a question about it, which is: Should I be concerned with lacquer build up on the feed ramp/magazine follower? I am new to guns and know this is a stupid questions, but can someone give me their two cents on steel casee ammo that is both lacquer/polymer coated?

2. TimeKiller911

TimeKiller911 New Member

i don't believe that the tula brand employs the use of lacquer in their ammo anymore and have moved to polymer-coating. it should be clearly labled on the box as to which is used. if you did have some lacquered ammo, i'd be certain to clean the gun well after each use to minimize the build up. personally, i'd spend a little extra and buy something with brass casings. however, here's an interesting article on the history and manufacturing process from the horse's mouth on the tula ammo factory.

http://www.luckygunner.com/ammo-manufacturer/tula-ammo-review

3. jfirecops

jfirecops New Member

Tula and Wolf have a polymer coating and your answer depends on the gun. A European and Asian designed gun (Glock, HK, AK, FN) will eat it like candy. The American designed guns (Smith, Colt. AR) will hate every second of the stuff.

Personally, I do not like the Tula due to casings breaking and sticking, but I have ran thousands of Wolf throw my Glock without issue.

4. ballcoach16

ballcoach16 New Member

I've run LOTS of tulammo through my glock, ruger sr9c, bodyguard, and rr AR and it shoots fine, except for the bodyguard. Common light primer strikes on the 380.

5. BORIS

BORIS New Member