Red Dot Optic

Discussion in 'Optics / Sights / Lasers / Lights' started by djg1965, Jun 26, 2020.

1. djg1965

djg1965 Active Member

I'm considering a Red Dot for handgun. I have zero experience with this system, other then when an employee at the LGS offered his to me to checkout. This was a very short exchange and I was unable to see the red dot. So, does it take time to see it, let alone perfect it? Should I have been able to see it with just a quick present and view?

2. Lucian_253

Lucian_253 Well-Known Member Supporter

Could the employee see it?

3. Lucian_253

Reading more carefully. It was the employees pistol, so I’m going to assume it was zeroed. I would say yes you should of seen it. Do you wear glasses, contacts, or any eye issues?

NWG40 likes this.
  4. Danzig

Danzig I do hood rat sh%t! Supporter

Texas
    I’ve had to hunt for the dot. It takes some practice in my experience. Especially if you aren’t presenting the pistol as if you were actually going to target something.

5. NWG40

NWG40 Well-Known Member Supporter

Yeah X2 here. A RDS is an awesome addition to a pistol, but like Danzig said it'll take practice to develop the muscle memory. Even after that I've found myself "hunting" for that dot which is why I prefer green to a red dot for a better contrast probably due to my astigmatism. The nice thing is when it's zeroed you can place the dot on the target no matter where it's in the sight. Helps with rapid fire and off center shots.

mattm, Olga17, 3404speed and 2 others like this.
  6. djg1965

djg1965 Active Member

I think my expectations were to see this big beautiful red dot. It was a very quick look. But, I see so many people having this or talking about getting one so I thought I'd asked the experts. And yes, my dominant eye is quite problematic.

NWG40 likes this.
  7. Olga17

Olga17 C19 sounds like G19 Supporter

I got an RMR cut slide for my G17.
    Immediately put a red dot on before the first range trip.