Glock Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not asking what you wear as far as brands, but I am curious as to if you wear both ear plugs and over ear protection, or simply one or the other? I am new to all of this and have been wearing both. I would say it's safe to assume that wearing both ear plugs and over ear protection is likely the best, but what do you do when you're at the range? I do think there's a benefit to being used to the sound of a gun going off, so if that's the case then I would say that over ear protection would be best. What do you use for ear protection?

Also, how many yards do you shoot away from with a 9mm handgun? 5, 7.5, 10, or what?

Thanks in advance!

·
Glockin’ since 1993
47,504 Posts
I recommend to new shooters and especially children and females to wear foam ear plugs and muffs.
I’ve pretty much worn one or the other with a preference for electronic muffs.
Electronic muffs let you keep them on and hear any commands or small talk among shooters.

I most often shoot at 10 yards but do 7 and 25 for kicks.

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
I use either the plastic banded ear plugs or just the ear plugs on a string. I tried the over the ear kind and just find them too large, too hot and distracting. They also get in my way when shooting rifles. To each his own though; the important thing is that you are using some kind of hearing protection.

·
Registered
101 Posts
I am not asking what you wear as far as brands, but I am curious as to if you wear both ear plugs and over ear protection, or simply one or the other? I am new to all of this and have been wearing both. I would say it's safe to assume that wearing both ear plugs and over ear protection is likely the best, but what do you do when you're at the range? I do think there's a benefit to being used to the sound of a gun going off, so if that's the case then I would say that over ear protection would be best. What do you use for ear protection?