Pistol Compensator?

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by Richard Davis, Aug 4, 2020.

1. Richard Davis

Richard Davis Well-Known Member

Until a few months ago, I didn't realize these things even existed, apparently they are now "all the rage". Do pistol compensators make a significant difference in felt recoil? Initially I pretty much wrote them off as the latest EDC fad, but then I was watching a Suarez International video and he seemed to think that getting one would drastically reduce felt recoil (impression was eliminate it). I know better than to expect practical elimination of it, but does it make significant difference? Anyone have experience with one? Thanks.

Southlake likes this.
  2. rbbeers

rbbeers Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting Member

I've no personal experience with one, but many of my USPSA friends shoot Open Division 9mm Major with compensated 2011s.

Simply stated, to be truly effective, it seems that the cartridge used must produce A LOT of gas or the compensator is basically useless... that is, cartridges with light bullets and a LOT of powder are necessary to drive the compensator (think 115 gr +P or +P+ cartridges).

For what it's worth, the following video is one of the more balanced and objective presentations I've seen on the subject.

Compensated Handguns

Best regards,

Bob

3. Danzig

Danzig I do hood rat sh%t! Supporter

Texas
    I think it provides an edge in competition but I never felt them as a necessity.
    I had one on my Springfield Armory Defender back in the early 1990’s.

martint1 and Richard Davis like this.
  4. John in AR

John in AR Well-Known Member Supporter

^ What they said.

The higher the pressure, the more effective they are. I don't have any pistols with full-blown compensators, but do have one M&P PC 9mm and a .45LC snubnose that are ported. Honestly can't say how much either one accomplishes; the 9mm feels a lot like a 9mm and the 45 feels a lot like a 45.