Glock Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still relatively new to firearms and shooting. I really started getting serious about guns and shooting back in March and a little later received my CCW. I have been carrying now for just a little while, but I have not been able to get comfortable yet carrying my guns with one in the chamber in large part because my wife and myself worry about a higher potentIal for an accident happening in general or somehow with my 2 boys (7 and 10)...inadvertently climbing on me, etc. My two carry guns are a Glock 26 and Colt 1911 .45 ACP. Any advice or feedback would be appreciated.

·
Carry on my friends!!!!
974 Posts
With children around I 100% understand with your concern about keeping your firearm in condition one. But I would reccomend that you train racking your slide when you draw your firearm if you have the ability to do so.

·
Load Bearing Wall
4,095 Posts
If you have a good, high quality holster, with a high level of retention, there is really nothing to be concerned about. Police Officers deal with combative individuals as part of their job, and their holsters retain their sidearms just as they were designed to. I carried my 1911 in a Galco for years in Condition 1, with just a basic thumb break snap for retention. I don't think I would want to be rough housing with a 7 & 10 year old with mine strapped on though, somebody might get bumped in the noggin. I'd probably want to take it off for that.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
GlockIt said:
With children around I 100% understand with your concern about keeping your firearm in condition one. But I would reccomend that you train racking your slide when you draw your firearm if you have the ability to do so.
That's good advice. I do practice that during some range sessions, but I should practice it more at home with some snap caps. Thanks.

·
Glockin’ since 1993
41,592 Posts