Newbie with a Glock 19

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by dbmcclus, Jul 18, 2012.

1. dbmcclus

dbmcclus New Member

I am a newbie with a Glock 19 and I have a question for the group. I have a CCP and a Blackhawk Serpa holster. I am familiar with the safe operation of the Glock and the use of my index finger to remove the pistol from the Serpa holster. I also know that you never place your finger on the trigger until you have your target in the sights.

Here is my question: do most of you(civilians) keep a round in the chamber when you carry? Some may say what good is a gun if it is not loaded? I can quickly chamber a round if I hear someone inside my house, but what if I am out in public? Case in point, just two days ago a man entered a bar in my state with an assault rifle and began firing. A total of 17 people were shot, but thankfully no fatalities. Had I been there or some other person with a concealed weapon, things may have been different. I know a concealed weapon has the advantage of surprise to the bad guy but what if he hears you chamber a round? My gut tells me to keep a round chambered, but I am reluctant to walk around with a loaded weapon. Thanks for your advice to a newbie.

2. dutchs

dutchs Well-Known Member

Welcome DBM!! Enjoy the forum!

3. darthraven0

darthraven0 New Member

Most states forbid ccw in bars. To answer your question though yes keep it chambered. Know your state laws and be safe.

4. KeenansGarage

KeenansGarage Hiding in plain sight....

Welcome to the Glck Forum! Stick around you will like it.

About your post...some states do not allow weapons in bars..... :(
    I always carry with one in the chamber. It is all what you are comfortable/trained to do. Be safe out there!

5. 10mil

10mil Is That a .40....nope its a 10MM!

GA