New to Guns

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by AverageCitizen, Apr 29, 2012.

1. AverageCitizen

AverageCitizen New Member

I am new to the world of firearms and having a Glock 21 as my first one. I have been looking online at several sites for aftermarket parts I just wanted to get yalls opinion on "upgrading" with aftermarket stuff because their are literally hundreds of thing you can buy. I am a tinkerer by nature I have to take stuff apart to see how it works my questions are.

Sights are Glock sights bad?
    Barrels are the stainless steel needed?
    Guide rods do I need a steel one or a tungsten?
    Spring weight stiffer or lighter? Whats best?
    Should I mess with stuff in the slide? Firing pin little springs etc?
    Should I do anything to the trigger?

Or should I just leave it alone?

2. ChromeDome

ChromeDome New Member

I'm pretty sure if you give folks a chance to reply, you will get more info than you even wanted.:rolleyes: There are some pretty sharp shooters(pun intended) on the forum.

3. Glock897

Glock897 Member

Leave it alone for now. Since this is your first gun, just get used to it. After some time has passed, you can start tinkering with it if you want. On my first glock, all I did was change the sights(to night sights) and I added a hogue grip.

The glock is a great gun and doesn't need any upgrading. People will change things to modify it to their liking, but IMO nothing needs to be changed.

4. Glock897 is right. Leave it stock until you've had enough experience to decide what modifications you will want. You may want different mods for different shooting activities.

5. AverageCitizen

AverageCitizen New Member

Cool thanks I was just wondering

6. gen4_G21

gen4_G21 New Member

I've had G21's and I have a Gen 4 21 right now. It's bone stock, the only mods I'll be doing are...