New member from MD

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Xfade, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Xfade

Xfade New Member

Hello all from Maryland. I just recently purchased my first handgun, a G17 gen4. I have shot handguns before, though not extensively, so I'm not exactly a complete noob. But I still have a lot to learn.

I have noticed that the trigger is different on glocks from some of the other brands I've shot eg Sig & HK, and it doesnt seem as accurate. Although, I didn't buy this gun for its accuracy, I bought for its reliability.

If anybody has any references on how to correct grip, stance, etc. based on results I'm getting from the range, it would be greatly appreciated.

2. havasu

havasu Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to the Glock Forum!

3. VCMike

VCMike New Member

CA
    Welcome to the forum!

4. Welcome from Damascus, MD.

5. Grabber GT

Grabber GT New Member

Ohio
    Welcome to the forum. It takes practice and some mods to get really accurate. I have an STI that gives patterns a third of the size of my Glocks without trying. But even my worst will get the defensive job done. I shoot competition with my 19 and will be upgrading to the 34 soon. Best of luck to you.

6. if the trigger seems to be the problem I would venture a bet that you are not squeezing smoothly, but rather pulling at the shot because you are anticipating the recoil. Dry fires do not hurt the glock, so unload it and play the bart simpson game.

Watch tv, and anytime bart or whoever you choose comes on, aim and squeeze. Remember that smooth is fast, and fast is smooth. Even just practice the trigger pulls over, and over. What you will notice, watch the front sight, is that just before the click you are pulling the gun off target. You should be squeezing, focusing on the target and not the trigger. When the click surprises you then you are doing it right, and you will see an increase in accuracy.

7. KeenansGarage

KeenansGarage Hiding in plain sight....