New Glock!, Awesome story on how I got it.

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by Burnsy, Mar 20, 2012.

1. Burnsy

Burnsy New Member

Hello,

So first and foremost, I am a firearms noob. I shot a few black powder rifles as child because my father was into them but other than that, no prior experince.

That said, my wife and I both have our carry permits. My father in law is an avid hunter and gave her a .38 snub revolver for ccw. I mentioned in passing that I should obtain a gun as well and put my permit to use. Well he was very nice because a few days later he offered me one of his guns. I am not sure of the model but it was a tiny little semi auto. I could easly palm the whole thing. I 380 of some sort if I recall. I politely declined.

So I started researching hand guns and almost instantly fell in love with the glock. Most people seem to the thing they are ugly....I think they look like what a pistol should. So I asked my father in law to come with me to a gun store and help my pick one out.

He did so and after handling about every glock option, the 21 was for me. It just fit my hand perfect. I was aware that the 9mm was cheaper to shoot and the subcompacts are eaiser to carry but none of them felt right but the 21.

I was ready to make a purchase right there but he said to wait, that he had just about every caliber there is (none glock, he prefers 9mm sigs) and then make a purchase. I was sad but I listened.

I was honestly worried that the recoil on a 45 would be to much for me (I am not a big guy) but like I said the fatter grip was a perfect fit.