Glock Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All

I have a Glock 21 and from time to time when I put a full clip into the gub and cock it to get the first round into the chamber it seems like the first round does not go completely into the chamber cause when I pull the trigger nothing happens. What I do then is clear the chamber of the round and tap the bottom of the clip with my hand and then re-cock the gun and then fire. The 21 is new so I'm wondering if the clip needs a bit more use. So far I've put about 200 rounds thru thr gun so far.I'm new to all this so does anyone have and answer for me? Thank you.

Steve :confused:

·
Registered
3,740 Posts
Are you riding the slide or just letting it go after you pull it back

·
Premium Member
8,787 Posts
Try to "DOwnload" your mag.

(this is a clip:
) :D :D :p I use them interchangeably all the time too. :D

By downloading, I mean load 1 or 2 less than full capacity.

If your slide is closed when you try to slam in a totally full mag into place, the mag may "click" in but not be all the way in.
Then, when you rack the slide, the mag may not be far enough in to have the round picked up correctly.

That's one thought.

The other has been mentioned. Are you "riding the slide"? How are you releasing the slide? Are you using the slingshot method to pull the slide back and releasing right away as it comes to a stop?

Is the slide locked open and you're using the slide release on the side to slam the round into the chamber?

Just a couple of things to try.

D

·
Premium Member
1,516 Posts
Are you riding the slide or just letting it go after you pull it back?
This would be my first question also. If the answer is NO, then I would first ensure the extractor, chamber and breechface are clean.
If that doesn't resolve the issue I would try another (new) recoil spring.