Let's discuss cleaning and maintenance

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by commonsense, Jun 3, 2012.

1. commonsense

commonsense New Member

Wanted to get some thoughts on weapon cleaning and maintenance. I have to admit I am meticulous about cleaning my pistols after every range trip. I usually shoot at least once a month but when I do not I am sure to clean it once a month.

I've been using Break Free and a grease for the slide instead of oil. What is everyone using and what is your cleaning schedule? Hopefully nobody responds with break cleaner or the dishwasher.

2. klf

klf New Member

Run for cover, here comes the grease vs oil debate. I am currently using Mobil 1 5w20. The reason, I have an extra 5 quarts that will last me a lifetime. I am no lube engineer but I would think the M1 is overkill for anything that happens in a firearm. Glock applies an anti-seize grease at the factory. I think the main thing is anything is better than nothing as long as you use it sparingly. Glocks like it dry. I suspect it is due to the tight tolerances held during manufacture. It is loose where it needs to be and not really tight anywhere. Personally I am pretty anal about cleaning after each firing session. However If I only could clean my glock once a year I wouldn't loose sleep on the reliability thing. On a side note Google up the formula for Ed's red. It is an excellent bore cleaner for fouling that you mix yourself. Most "specialized" firearms lubes and cleaners aren't that special. Consult the MSDS for any one of them and you will find mostly mineral oil and common solvents. No miracle juice to be found. Nice smelling and in a pretty bottle for a premium price. Happy glockin.:D

3. commonsense

commonsense New Member