is remington umc good?

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by Dboyce12, Feb 20, 2012.

1. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

It's my first time buying them & shooting them through my glock 22 and I don't one what's gonna come out of it!! Yikes!! What do I have to look forward to?

2. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

In my experience, Remington UMC uses "dirty" gunpowder. To see what I mean, watch carefully when someone fires, there is more smoke than is the norm (for "smokeless" powder), and the brass cases look real filthy. The rounds themselves perform well, bullet weights within established norms with less than the standard deviation. Now, Glocks are known for continued reliability even when dirty, so this may not even be an issue. As a reloader, I just get anal with dirty brass.

3. bhale187

bhale187 New Member Supporter

about the same as winchester white box, they are fine

4. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Sponsor Lifetime Supporting Member

Remington / Union Metallic Cartridge is your standard run of the mill firearm fodder.

Not the best, not the worst...dirty as others have pointed out, accuracy is generally OK.

Your Glock will eat it right up...no problem !

5. db559

db559 New Member

I put about 250 of them through my 21sf this weekend with no problem. A lil dirty tho.

6. iRockGlock

iRockGlock Well-Known Member

That's like eating at Taco Bell for your Glock......lol

7. iGlock

iGlock Lead Farmer

Its is but its good ammo to burn at the range. My glocks, 1911 n hi point i had ate that up.

8. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

Ok cool thanks!

9. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

Lol Haha good one

10. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

One time, I disassembled a whole 50-round box of UMC 9mm 115-gr JFP rounds, just to tinker. I found the bullets weighed on the low end at 113.90 grains and on the high end at 116.50 grains. That's an average weight variation of less than +/- 1.5 grains for each bullet.