Iron sight practical distance

Discussion in 'General Firearm Forum' started by BocaDan, Jun 15, 2012.

1. BocaDan

BocaDan New Member

My question is what is the practical/efficient/realistic distance that one should expect from using a rifle with bare sights? Or in other words around what distance should one resort to scopes instead of sights.

For the sake of argument, let's say we're talking an AR style rifle chambered in 223/5.56 against 12"x12" stationary paper targets...

Thanks!

Dan

2. SeventiesWreckers

SeventiesWreckers Load Bearing Wall

3. mcz0804a

mcz0804a Don't Call Me Sir!!! I Work For A Living

Not sure about your specific rifle but I know my Colt M4. W/ a 14" barrel and a 1:7 rifling shooting M855 you get the following:

Area Target: 600m
    Point Target: 500m
    Max: 3600m

4. SeventiesWreckers

This is a vid showing the "Dog" target, 24", shooters firing from 300 yards. The 12" bull was a 200 yard target, not too hard to hit on slow fire.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYWi9PXJHCU[/ame]

5. SeventiesWreckers

A Marine Corps Recruiter Will Be With You Momentarily.

6. mcz0804a

To late the Air Force got to me 4 years ago. Lol

7. Argyle64

Argyle64 New Member

Yeah, um....I can't even see a target at 500m and I have 20/20 vision.

8. mcz0804a

Well that's what the AF tells me. My unit is non-deployable so odds that I'll ever shoot anyone with my M4 is VERY slim. Much less at those ranges.

9. Regardless of what product literature might say on this, it's really a matter of the shooter as an individual. If you can hit a target at 400 yards with iron sights, then go with it. If you can hit at 400 yards with a scope, then use it. Whatever works for you is right for you :)

10. sgtcowboyusmc

sgtcowboyusmc New Member

God I miss that! OOHRAH! SHOOTERS YOU MAY COMMENCE FIRING ONCE YOUR DOG TARGETS APPEAR!;)

11. SeventiesWreckers