I'm shooting low to the left HELP!!

Discussion in 'Optics / Sights / Lasers / Lights' started by Dboyce12, Feb 9, 2012.

1. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

I'M VERY NEW TO SHOOTING PERIOD an all my shots are going low to the left! Is it the gun or is it something I'm doing wrong! An its the glock 22

ForumRunner_20120209_225141.jpg

2. It's very difficult to diagnose the problem by proxy but you are likely anticipating recoil and pushing the gun down unintentionally. On the other hand, there are probably 20 different reasons you could be doing it. It's most likely not the gun.

3. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

Yeah I kinda figured it wasn't the gun. I bought it brand new. Do you have any pointers on how to help with the anticipation thing?

4. bhale187

bhale187 New Member Supporter

[​IMG]
    This should help

5. bhale187

bhale187 New Member Supporter

Anticipation usually results in a high hit, but I've seen people who jerk down in anticipation.

In my experience the best way to get over anticipation is to shoot the heck out of a 22lr pistol. The lack of recoil will help to get over the problem.

6. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

Okay cool thanks. I prolly should of went with a glock .40 for my very first gun lol

7. Redhawk41mag

Redhawk41mag New Member

I find when a student shoots low left, the act of pinching the grip with the ring/pinky finger is happening. I always offer this lil option. As you wrap your left hand around your right {or visa versa depending on strong hand} push the pistol into the overlapping hand with your strong hand and pull slightly with the oustide hand. Ive found, more times than not this takes the pressure off the strong hand fingers while still having total control of your pistol.

Give that a try and lemme know if it works for you...

8. Dboyce12

Dboyce12 New Member

So hold tighter with my left hand and loosen up on my right hand?

9. Few more possibilities:

Right handed