Glock Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
185 Posts
I have been using Hickok45's Ballistol cleaning method on my glock's and been pretty satisfied with the results but when this came across my google searching I started to question if I am cleaning my guns correctly.

·
1 Year Member
953 Posts
I just do not care for Hickok and do not watch his videos any longer, I have found many BS advise and experience by him IMO but will keep it to myself. But he also gives out some good info but I just do not care for him. He does have a huge following from what I have seen.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Way too much CLP sprayed on that Glock for my liking. There is no way he got all that CLP out of all the nooks and crannies or out of firing pin channel. I'm no expert, but that looks like a failure waiting to happen.

I'll stick with the way Hickok45 cleans his, Been doing it that way to all my Glock since I've owned them with no problems.

·
Registered
13 Posts
The cleaning method in this video is not really that bad, but I would not recommend it. The issue is he is putting a lot of CLP in the firing pin chamber area and the ejector relief hole. Unless you detail strip the slide and really blow out that area it can cause clogging. Glock recommends this area remain dry. When the pistol is re-assembled and fired there will be powder residue that will end up in these areas and if it's still moist from CLP it can cause gunk to build up over time. I have no issue with CLP on the front part of the slide. I use alcohol and a Q tip to clean the rear part of the slide.
I hope this is helpful, I know it keeps all 5 of my Glocks running well and one of them is approaching 10,000 rounds. Glock on!

Glock Certified Armorer
GSSF member
IDPA
USPSA
NRA

·
1 Year Member
953 Posts