Hello from Houston, TX

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by sean_ma, Mar 2, 2012.

1. sean_ma

sean_ma New Member

Never had a gun before never fired one before, read this site a good few times. Ended up with a Glock 19 Gen 3 :). Shot almost 800 rounds this past month. love this gun, don't know why I never had one before.

Like breaking it down, was scared of the other pistols since they were so complex,.well for me it is!

2. davewt42q

davewt42q New Member Supporter

Welcome to the Forum Sean . My son owns a 19 Gen 3 he likes it. I've put a few rounds though it nice piece ...I just prefer something will a little more punch than a 9 mm so I went with the .40 cal 23 Gen 4.

/r,
    Dave

3. sean_ma

sean_ma New Member

Thanks! Yer seeing it is my first time I settled for a 9mm. Don't think I can handle a larger caliber just yet, maybe in the future once i'm proficient enough. Still surprised how easy it I'd to buy ammo. Thought I'd just buy 100 rounds first at the local sports store. And the guy next to me bought 300 rounds. Its like candy?!?

4. davewt42q

davewt42q New Member Supporter

You'll find it's cheaper to purchase in bulk 500 or 1,000 round lots practice ammo. I've bought on-line from Cheaper Than Dirt and Natchez both practice ammo and personal defense ammo. Look for dealer on factor brand non-reload rounds. I use federal premium full metal jacket ball for target and hydro shock hollow points for personal defense. Don't need that much personal defense ammo.

5. sean_ma

sean_ma New Member

Thanks for the tips. Since going to the range its so easy to chew through them in just one hour :) I'll check the sites out. Thanks again.

6. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Hello, Sean_ma, and WELCOME to the Forum!

Congratulations on your G19! Now you see what all the hype was about!

Yep, buying ammo will become a significant expense eventually, and you did good in getting a 9mm (cheaper that .40SW or .45ACP)!

Have fun shooting, and again, WELCOME!