Gun Inventory

Discussion in 'Law Enforcement & Military' started by havasu, Mar 21, 2012.

1. havasu

havasu Well-Known Member Supporter

As a retired police officer, I have accumulated a large amount of handguns and rifles. I pay an additional premium on my homeowner's insurance policy to cover my guns, but the insurance company requested photos with serial numbers on all handguns and rifles.

I took photos of all handguns with the serial numbers displayed, and saved this information in my computer hard drive, my fireproof external hard drive, and also have included a printed photograph or every gun, which is kept in my fireproof safe.

Can anyone provide any other ways of protecting the firearms I own?

2. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Get a second insurance policy covering just the firearms, such as thru the NRA. Their policy is total loss, outright replacement cost.

Protect them from humidity and rust?

3. sgtcowboyusmc

sgtcowboyusmc New Member

Vote out these idiots who want to take them away!

"Guns have only two natural enemies Rust and Politicians!"

4. Argyle64

Argyle64 New Member

I have photos of all of my firearms stored online so if anything happens to my computers, the photos are safe. I also keep my firearms stored in the best safe money can buy. 1,200 degrees at 2 hours bolted to the floor to protect from an F5 tornado.

5. jonm61

jonm61 New Member

I've been meaning to do this same thing. I need to ad firearms coverage to my renter's, as I'm only covered for either $2500 or $5000...I don't remember now. Whatever it was, I remember my insurance agent making a joke about not needing more unless I had an arsenal (cue nervous laugh from agent) as I was doing the math in my head thinking I probably need more coverage.