Glock engravings

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by BLCKWLF, May 19, 2012.

1. BLCKWLF

BLCKWLF GrassHopper

Anyone else have any engravings on their glock?

Here is mine, shield and initials of the El Paso Sheriffs Office.

Attached Files:

2. Not to be a ball buster, but if I was a lawyer I would rip you apart for having markings on a gun that may give the impression of a service weapon or officer. I don't recall you ever saying you were an officer, so I apologize if you are but many places don't take anyone under 21 so I'm working on the assumption that you are not.

3. BLCKWLF

BLCKWLF GrassHopper

It is a lawfully possessed, lawfully purchased firearm. It was part of a 250 gun lot sold to Cabelas and distributed to 6 retail locations from the El Paso Sheriffs Office. I do not, nor have I, ever claimed to be a law enforcement officer.

4. I never said it was illegal. I'm also not saying you are making a claim to be an LEO. What I am saying is that it presents certain things to the public and for the $150 cost it would be wise to get rid of that slide and replace it with another one.

I wouldn't even be worried just about the lawyers out there, you get a cop in a bad mood and he will arrest you for impersonation. He will have a case for it, too.

5. havasu

havasu Well-Known Member Supporter

My department was the first on the West Coast to use Glock exclusively. Glock engraved all 100 G-22's for us to use and abuse, and when it was time to replace them, many of us wanted to purchase them because of the PD engraving. We were told by Glock that they needed to be returned AND destroyed, because they could not legally sell them to the public for the exact reason Nuks is referring to.

6. Many times they end up sold if there is no officers name on there, but it shouldn't be allowed.

7. BLCKWLF

BLCKWLF GrassHopper

I would have to disagree on that. The police here that I have shown my weapon to, are impressed by it, one offered to buy it.