G27 Issue

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by Bilge, Jun 29, 2012.

1. Bilge

Bilge New Member

I just purchased my first Glock, a 27 gen4. I bought it at Cabela's about 10 hours from here. So, dropping in and asking them about my issue is not exactly convenient, LOL.

I went to the range on Monday, fired 100 rounds and had four rounds fail to fire. I figured, I'm new to Glocks, maybe it just needs a little break in time for the firing pin. After all, the manual says the firing pin may not move freely at first until the gun has had some rounds through it. Or perhaps the ammo was an issue. Wednesday, I go to the range and fire 200 rounds. Now I'm getting more comfortable with the function and I'm noticing that some rounds are hitting noticeably higher than point of aim for other rounds. I also had the same problem with failure to fire, this time nine rounds out of 200.

At that point, I knew I had a problem. I knew I wasn't limp wristing it. It had to be something else. I took a close look at the "failed" rounds and the spent brass. The failed rounds had light primer strikes near the edge of the primer. The fired rounds had primer strikes ranging from center to near the edge. I started looking to the gun and noticed that the slide seems to "catch" just before going into battery. I did some Google-ing and found a spring test on YouTube, which my gun failed. During the spring test, the slide stops and does not go into battery until you release the trigger.