G23 atypical FTF using reloads

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by cbmarine, Jun 29, 2012.

1. cbmarine

cbmarine Semper Fi

Loaded up some Winchester .40 brass with 6.7 grains of Power Pistol behind a 180 grain HAP bullet and in front of a CCI #500 primer. Paid careful attention to COL and charge. On two separate strings, the slide failed to cycle forward, i.e., remaining in the full back position. In both cases, my first remedial action was to release the magazine . As the magazine popped out, the slide cycled forward. This problem did not occur on the previous load of 6.1 grains (Hornady max is 7.1 grains). Question: is the load too hot? Here's the brass. G23 Gen 3 with stock barrel.

Attached Files:

2. G-23

G-23 Premium Member

I can't help but wonder what gun did Hornady (max is 7.1 grains) test run that charge in? Was it a glock?
    I admit, I'm a newbie on the reloading stage.

What characteristics are you looking for?

The Glock frame flexes with the recoil as you well know. I don't think this is the cause of your situation though.

If the slide is returning during the dropping of the mag I have to think you are having a double feed or the higher load is causing a "limpwrist like effect" on the weapon.

Not knowing if the prevoius round extracted, ejected or other bits of info, can make it hard to solve operational situations.

3. cbmarine

cbmarine Semper Fi

Thanks for the response and questions
    Hornady Handloading 8th Edition. Test gun: S&W 4006.
    Chamber empty at slide lock; next round still in mag.
    Not sure how "limp wrist effect" plays in this situation.
    Frame flex; interesting.
    Here's the target at 25' during this set.

Attached Files:

4. cbmarine

cbmarine Semper Fi

BTW, are you are hard hat diver? Squid, maybe? I know a couple of divers including one of the first women to qualify

5. G-23

G-23 Premium Member