Full size CCW

Discussion in 'Holsters and Cases' started by gen4-21, Jun 29, 2012.

1. gen4-21

gen4-21 New Member

I'm new to handguns this year. I've been learning on a friends 1911 and have completed my CCW class. I feel more comfortable with a full frame for control and aim and have ordered my first one, a Gen 4-G21. I'm mostly going to use it to hone my skills at the range and home defense. My concern is concealing it. I live in the midwest where the weather is about 50/50, and I mostly wear casual attire, jeans, t-shirt, maybe an untucked flannel or light waist high jacket. I've looked at the Crossbreed Supertuck Deluxe and the Galco king Tuk. Both look like top choices to me because they spread the load over a bigger area and this is not a light package loaded! My question to the forum is 1) Am I crazy to begin CCW with a full frame? and 2) What are some other good choices for IWB for a full size weapon? Any other helpful advice or comments will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. william488

william488 New Member

welcome to the forum, I am sure someone will be on soon to help you with your question. I personally use a mic holster and just slip it under my belt.

3. GAgal

GAgal Well-Known Member

Welcome to the Forum! A lot of folks carry a full frame. I'm sure they will be along shortly to offer advice and answer your questions. I hope you enjoy the Forum.

4. Glockmaster

Glockmaster New Member

Try N82tactical.com very comfortable.

Attached Files:

5. Brandan86

Brandan86 New Member

I carry a full size G22 in a DeSantis Insider IWB Holster. I usually wear jeans and a large t_shirt or a Polo. I modified the clip to sit higher as the grip would dig into me. I got the holster from Glockstore.com for like $25 a couple years ago.

6. gen4-21

gen4-21 New Member

Thanks for the welcomes and advice all. I'll check into your suggestions, I'm looking forward to this forum, further experience, education and friendships to come!

7. metalriot

metalriot New Member