FTE's from a Glock 26

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by BerettaBoy213, Jul 6, 2016.

1. Hi all. I'm new here and have had a recurring issue with a used Glock 26 Gen 3 I bought a few months ago. About once or twice in every 100 rounds I have a double-feed; one empty shell stays in the chamber wile my Glock tries to load the next. I've changed out the complete extractor system, got a new recoil spring and tried a totally new fresh magazine and still get problems. I have a few very specific questions about this if you all could answer, plus any additional input. I'm sure you've heard about this before so pardon my repeating what others have asked about before.

1. I strongly suspect this is "limp-wristing" from what I have researched, even though I shoot with as tight and firm a grip as I can, locked wrists etc. Am I probably correct? Any suggestions?

2. A wile back when I started shooting I tried one of those grip-strengther things and just ended up with a bad multi-finger case of tendinitis.

3. I have been told that even a little, unnoticeable, bit of friction from my thumbs on the slide as it cycles could cause this. I really do try to keep them off and never sense any pressure from them when they are sometimes on the slide if their slightly above the little thumb-rest area just in front and above the trigger guard, but could this still be a problem? Wouldn't it be likely my thumbs will still likely be a little bit beside the slide in an emergency no-think defensive situation anyway? Doesn't saying "keep your thumbs totally away from the side of the slide" just make the Baby Glocks unreliable defensive pistols in practice?

4. Would getting a bigger Glock (i.e. 19) likely solve this problem?

5. Or (don't flame the noob for the mere innocent suggestion of a heresy!) another type of pistol than a G***k? From what I gather LW is more a problem with Glocks than other makes.

6. Would different ammo possibly solve this problem?