From Fear to Gear in a Year!!

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by RusticBliss, Jun 26, 2012.

1. RusticBliss

RusticBliss New Member

I Am new here- and not sure if anyone else has previously been afraid of guns until now.
    Sorry for the long story in advance but it's an interesting one.
    I am ready to buy my first gun. My husband has many- but I am new to shooting. As I said in another post- there is no "mine" and "yours" in our lives- just ours- but I refer to the firearms as "his because he registered them and until nota I had no interest. So until now- they were "his" guns.
    - I have had a nearly 20 year fear of guns. Started when my friend was accidentally shot in the chest with a .25 cal point blank in my bedroom when I was 16. The bullet was 1/8 of an inch away from her heart. I remember the sound- the blood and holding my hand over the hole in her chest while we waited for the ambulance. She survived and it was an accident but I was "Gun Shy" (pun intended) ever since.
    My husband (boyfriend at the time of the shooting) has always been a responsible gun enthusiast. (he was not the shooter). He respected my fear and would not have the guns around me- which limited his enjoyment but as a gentleman- he never complained.

About a year ago- my baby was sick and spent the night on the 2nd floor in my bedroom so my husband took the couch for the night. I was up late (nervous about my child's fever) and about 2 am I saw headlights slowly go past my window. We lived in PA at the time on a quiet dead end block near the end of the cul-de-sac. We had a thick wooded lot and there were no street lights.
    I got up and went to the window to see what it was. I noticed a car (headlights) very very slowly continue pass my house. It turned around in the cul-de-sac and pulled into the house next to mine.
    This was very strange as I know the neighbors and they were home since 8pm.