Glock Firearms banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,

I am an Indiana resident flying to CA to pick up a car to drive back, and would strongly prefer to bring my boomstick for the trip home.

I own an Austrian Glock 43. I do not need to bring ammo as I have sensible family in CA.

I am flying out of Chicago O'Hare and arriving in San Francisco.

I know 1) my CCW is no good in CA. 2) any mag over 10 rounds is a no-no. 3) 4th gen Glock is not on "the list" for approved FFL sale in CA. 4) proper transport in CA (unloaded/locked/seperate container.

Is this a stupid idea or will I be okay? Please only reply if you know exactly what you're talking about, preferably if you have experience flying into SFO/out of ORD with a checked handgun.

Unfortunately most the advice I've gotten up here has been half-muttered mixed truths about the sorry state of affairs in CA, complete with conspiracy theories, and how bringing anything in will send me to the slammer forever, given by people I doubt have ever left the state of IN. ;-)

·
Administrator
133,338 Posts
As long as it's in a locked container and not loaded you will be fine . I live here but fly in and out of CA with a gun almost every time mostly on southwest . Just check your airlines rules

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Flying Virgin (Alaska now) and am familiar with procedure.

I am apprehensive about having a known handgun in my possession within the city limits of Chicago & San Francisco. Any details regarding my rights or lack thereof as a nonresident?

Just want to measure twice before cutting. I DEPped into the Air Force last week for the job offer of a lifetime, so the last thing I need is a firearms violation.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I know 1) my CCW is no good in CA. 2) any mag over 10 rounds is a no-no. 3) 4th gen Glock is not on "the list" for approved FFL sale in CA. 4) proper transport in CA (unloaded/locked/seperate container.