First time at range

Discussion in 'Range Reports' started by PeacefulWarrior, Mar 16, 2012.

1. PeacefulWarrior

PeacefulWarrior New Member

I am new to the world of handguns. As a matter of fact, the last time I shot anything was about 20 years ago in the military.
    I bought a Glock 19 4th Gen three weeks ago, still trying to get to the range to shoot it for the first time. Living in suburbia stinks! I grew up in rural PA where I could have been shooting in my back yard for the past three weeks.
    I've been practicing the basics with snap caps, reviewing safety over & over, and am ready to go shoot at a range next week. Any pointers, "do's & don'ts," or general/specific advice? There's an outdoor range ($6) and an indoor range ($19/yikes!) - both about 30 minutes away.
    Mostly wondering what to expect from a 9mm. Lots of people have put my choice down, but I think a 9mm is more than sufficient to begin with, no matter the weapons I've handled in the past. Thanks for any pointers, no pun intended!

2. jimmyalbrecht

jimmyalbrecht Glockn Rollin

Ask those people if they would like to be shot with your 9mm if it is such a bad cartridge haha. Some do's: learn your gun and the way it reacts. You don't have to go out and dump your entire mag in 3 seconds the first time you go shooting. Find the point of aim/point of impact on your Glock. Practice different grips, stances and see which one works for you. A couple of don'ts: just don't be obnoxious at the range I guess haha.

3. iGlock

iGlock Lead Farmer

Just remember its all about shot placement no matter what the caliber.

4. geeteeohh

geeteeohh Member

I would talk to the range officer about any specifics. I went for the first time several weeks ago. He gave me some good pointers such as how to place the paper target, don't shoot the clips holding the target, rules around hearing protection and safety glasses, etc.

5. geeteeohh

geeteeohh Member