Glock Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to guns. I would like to show my love of firearms by wearing caps and shirts. However, I can see how this could make you a target in a violent situation. If you are wearing a Glock hat (or whatever logo for a gun or ammo company, which is why I posted in general firearms--this is not a "Glock" issue) then a violent criminal might be thinking "I will shoot that guy first because he might be carrying."

However, I can see the opposite effect happening. Say a guy goes in a store to case the place and he sees you wearing your (insert gun company here) hat. He may think "that guy probably has a concealed weapon--time to move on."

I am planning on getting a CCW at some point, but you do not necessarily want to show the world that you love guns... or do you? The best use of a CCW is when a violent criminal does not know that anyone present has a gun. If you are doing a good job concealing you gun, likely everyone will be surprised when you drawn down during a deadly situation. If you have to shoot someone, how is it going to look to jurors when you when taken in wearing a shirt with a gun logo on it?

I am curious about what other people think about this issue, and I appreciate your thoughts.

·
Registered
13,460 Posts
I have a lot of gun-related shirts and ballcaps and in fact have a jacket festooned with gun-related patches, no problem at all wearing them.

It's like you meet guys all over with camo ballcaps that say Winchester and such, and get the idea that they are hunters based on the ballcap, but it does not mean they are carrying their 30-06 right that moment.

I am careful about where I go when I wear certain t-shirts (I have a couple that say various things like: "All-American Infidel: Death to Islamic Terrorists" and "I Reckon Its Time We Start Playing Cowboy And Illegal Immigrant" and the like), because the shirt itself can provoke a situation.