Competition

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by AllUNeed10mm, Mar 31, 2012.

1. AllUNeed10mm

AllUNeed10mm New Member

I've gotten to be a pretty good shot with my new G20 ....and I'm interested in maybe trying my hand at some competition shooting. What are some basics that I need to know? Best caliber for competition? Good mods? And whatever else my noob butt should know.....any advice fellas?

2. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Shoot fast.

Shoot well.

Don't use a revolver.

3. AllUNeed10mm

AllUNeed10mm New Member

I shoot well......kinda fast.......getting faster .......and can I use my GLOCK 20?

I've been working on getting comfortable with his I hold the gun. Both thumbs pointing forward.....index finger on the front if the trigger guard....right where it looks like it was made for that. Sorry if I sound a bit ignorant about shooting pistols....but I am. I was pretty accurate when I started shooting without having that finger there. When I started putting my finger there I started to get crazy accurate. Helps to control the barrel a lot better. That front sight just drops right back down to the target.

Is there a certain grain that you have to use in competition? Or can I use whatever I want? And wouldn't a lower grain cartridge have less kick?

4. G-23

G-23 Premium Member

Slow is fast.
    9mm

5. fls348

fls348 New Member

Typically in comps you'll shoot a lot. The 10mm may get very expensive. I also have a G20, love it but the amount of ammo I go through rules out it being economical. I use my G17, it'll be the cheapest to run and you'll shoot a bit quicker with the lessened recoil. However if you can afford to shoot the 10mm and your good with it then by all means stay with it!

6. zipper046

zipper046 Member Supporter

Shoot, shoot, shoot! :)

Best thing to do is just to shoot! To that end, 10mm is a GREAT round, however can get expensive especially if you don't reload.