Comparable 1911

Discussion in 'General Firearm Forum' started by ChromeDome, Feb 18, 2012.

1. ChromeDome

ChromeDome New Member

I'm fairly new to shooting and just recently began to cc my G19. Before any of you fellow Glock nuts berate me for blasphemy, let me assure you all that I am an avid Glock fan. My first purchase of a Glock is what has sparked my interest in firearms of all sorts. So, I have been researching various hand guns and shotguns, primarily for home and self defense. I have pretty much decided that my first shotgun will be a mossberg 500 or maybe a 590. (I especially like the 590A1.) I was hoping to get some input from the forum as far as selecting my next hand gun. I have been looking into a lot of 1911's. Colt, Kimber, Ruger and STI all have very appealing versions. Of course the more I learn, the more questions I have. Can I really get a quality, reliable 1911 for about the same price as a Glock? Would getting a 9mm vs a 45cal, or less than a 5in barrel be "defeating the purpose" of a 1911? I would really appreciate any input, as I hold all of your opinions in the highest regard. Thank you in advance. Stay safe and don't forget to duck!

Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Sponsor Lifetime Supporting Member

Welcome to the Glock Forum ChromeDome !!

Your query will be answered shortly...opinions abound here !!

3. EvilD

EvilD New Member

Springfield makes a nice 45, they have a lot of options.

4. bhale187

bhale187 New Member Supporter

Rock Island enjoys a great reputation for a dependable, affordable, no frills 1911.

5. jimmyalbrecht

jimmyalbrecht Glockn Rollin

If you haven't yet, check out the Sig 1911, the Taurus 1911, and the Para 1911s. When I buy one, it is going to be one of these three brands.

6. I am so tempted to buy the Sig 1911 Spartan. Granted it hasn't release yet, but I love this gun from what I see. Any advice on Sig 1911's? I also have eyed the Taurus 1911, it is about half the price...