Glock Firearms banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My company is contemplating moving my family and I to Texas for a promotional opportunity. That being said, I would lose my Florida Concealed Weapons and Firearms License. I have been doing a little home work and it looks like obtaining the Texas CWP is like giving a kidney to science. Anyone out there have any suggestions or best practices for acquiring the CWP in Texas?

Thanks...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I don't have one but my buddy does. The class is 75 bucks and the permit I believe is 500 for two years ( I think). Will ask him and get back to you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
this is what i found



It is important for license holders to understand that when they are traveling in or through another state they are subject to the firearm laws of that state. We have provided links to the state laws or to the licensing authorities' Web page of each of our reciprocity states so that licensees can do the necessary planning and research when preparing to travel.
FLORIDA'S RECIPROCITY STATES Alabama (1,3,5) Alaska (1) Arizona (6) Arkansas (1) Colorado (1,4) Delaware Georgia (1) Idaho (3,6) Indiana (1,3,6) Iowa (6) Kansas (1) Kentucky Louisiana (1) Michigan (1,4) Mississippi (1) Missouri Montana (3) Nebraska (1) New Hampshire (1,3,4,6) New Mexico (1) North Carolina (1) North Dakota (3,6) Ohio (1) Oklahoma (1) Pennsylvania (1,6) South Carolina (1,4,6) South Dakota (1,3) Tennessee (1,6) Texas (1,3,6) Utah (1,6) Vermont (2) Virginia (1,6) Washington (1,6) West Virginia (1) Wyoming (1,3)




Concealed Handgun Licensing

Texas CHL Agreements With Other States

 

·
Banned
Joined
·
308 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
308 Posts
Will you be permanently moving or only short term? You need to be a Texas resident (drivers license and home address) as well.

Good things about Texas:
Castle Law
Right of Fresh Pursuit
NO must-try-to-escape type laws
Can carry a loaded firearm (pistol, rifle, etc) in your vehicle without a CHL
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
jwillson said:
I don't have one but my buddy does. The class is 75 bucks and the permit I believe is 500 for two years ( I think). Will ask him and get back to you.
Thanks for the reply. Yikes I hope it's not that much... I only spent about $200 for my 7-year CWFL in Florida. But it is what it is ... Take care
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Frogit67 said:
this is what i found

It is important for license holders to understand that when they are traveling in or through another state they are subject to the firearm laws of that state. We have provided links to the state laws or to the licensing authorities' Web page of each of our reciprocity states so that licensees can do the necessary planning and research when preparing to travel.
FLORIDA'S RECIPROCITY STATES Alabama (1,3,5) Alaska (1) Arizona (6) Arkansas (1) Colorado (1,4) Delaware Georgia (1) Idaho (3,6) Indiana (1,3,6) Iowa (6) Kansas (1) Kentucky Louisiana (1) Michigan (1,4) Mississippi (1) Missouri Montana (3) Nebraska (1) New Hampshire (1,3,4,6) New Mexico (1) North Carolina (1) North Dakota (3,6) Ohio (1) Oklahoma (1) Pennsylvania (1,6) South Carolina (1,4,6) South Dakota (1,3) Tennessee (1,6) Texas (1,3,6) Utah (1,6) Vermont (2) Virginia (1,6) Washington (1,6) West Virginia (1) Wyoming (1,3)

Concealed Handgun Licensing

Texas CHL Agreements With Other States


[*]Alabama (PDF) (08-08-2006)
[*]Alabama Recognition (PDF)

[*]See note below (08-08-2006)


[*]Alaska (PDF) (09-26-2005)
[*]Arizona (09-15-1999)
[*]Arkansas (02-19-1998)
[*]Colorado ** (PDF) (06-20-2007)

[*]Updated Agreement Information


[*]Delaware (PDF) (11-01-2005)
[*]Florida (08-28-2000)
[*]Georgia (PDF) (11-22-2004)
[*]Idaho (PDF) (08-09-2004)
[*]Indiana (PDF) (11-02-2005)
[*]Kansas * (PDF) (01-30-2007)

[*]See note below


[*]Kentucky (08-30-2000)
[*]Louisiana (08-31-1998)
[*]Michigan * (PDF) (09-01-2005)

[*]See note below


[*]Mississippi (PDF) (09-07-2004)
[*]Missouri (PDF) (09-06-2005)

[*]See note below


[*]Montana (PDF) (11-29-2004)
[*]Nebraska (PDF) (02-16-2007)
[*]New Mexico (PDF) (11-30-2005)

[*]See note below


[*]North Carolina (04-19-2004)
[*]North Dakota (PDF) (02-04-2005)
[*]Oklahoma (07-24-1998)
[*]Pennsylvania (PDF) (02-28-2005)
[*]South Carolina (PDF) (02-25-2005)
[*]South Dakota (PDF) (09-06-2005)

[*]See note below


[*]Tennessee (08-30-2000)
[*]Utah (PDF) (09-03-2004)
[*]Virginia (PDF) (09/01/05)
[*]Wyoming (07-25-2002)
Thanks... Great info...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
PettyOfficer said:
As soon as I get some cash I'll take the class and get my TX CHL
Class cost varies by the range. 75-150.
Gotta get electronically finger printed; don't know the cost, maybe $10?
The application is like $145 or something close to that.

Then it's a month or few until its delivered if your background is clean. Little things in your criminal record can invalidate your application.

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/internetforms/Forms/CHL-16.pdf
http://www.mylegalheat.com/
http://handgunlaw.us/
Thanks! I appreciate the info...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
PettyOfficer said:
Will you be permanently moving or only short term? You need to be a Texas resident (drivers license and home address) as well.

Good things about Texas:
Castle Law
Right of Fresh Pursuit
NO must-try-to-escape type laws
Can carry a loaded firearm (pistol, rifle, etc) in your vehicle without a CHL
It looks like I would be relocated for at least 2 years. I would definitely be getting Tx tags and DL. I'm excited for the move (potential) and the Tx firearm laws are a major bonus.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
I have chl in tx and as of June or July of 2011 you must apply for application online first and pay app fee of $135-150 not exactly sure depending we're you go for class it ranges from $90 to $120 plus your ammo includes range time yes must have digital finger prints not everywhere is set up for them 8 he class shoot 50 rounds score of 200or better to pass shoot 20 rds at 3yds. 20 rds at 7yds 10 rds at 15yds. Takes up to 60 days upon receipt of all completed paper work to get permit. Hope that helps
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
308 Posts
One more note: i was interested so i read some of the laws last night: unless you meet one of the special provisions, you'll have to be a Texas resident for 6 months before you can apply.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
rexg23 said:
I have chl in tx and as of June or July of 2011 you must apply for application online first and pay app fee of $135-150 not exactly sure depending we're you go for class it ranges from $90 to $120 plus your ammo includes range time yes must have digital finger prints not everywhere is set up for them 8 he class shoot 50 rounds score of 200or better to pass shoot 20 rds at 3yds. 20 rds at 7yds 10 rds at 15yds. Takes up to 60 days upon receipt of all completed paper work to get permit. Hope that helps
Thanks for that info... Definitely helps. In my line of work I need to have the ability to carry concealed (legally) once I leave the office. Last thing I need is to have a lapse in coverage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
PettyOfficer said:
One more note: i was interested so i read some of the laws last night: unless you meet one of the special provisions, you'll have to be a Texas resident for 6 months before you can apply.
Wow... Good to know. Wonder if there is any loop hole there being that I have one in Florida already and former LEO. Just don't want to have a time lapse for personal/family protection when out in public.

Thanks for the follow up.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top