Can ammo quality have an effect on how casing is ejected?

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by Shadow, Mar 29, 2012.

1. Shadow

Shadow New Member

Before I went to the range today, I went by and picked up some monarch 115 gr. ammo from academy($10/box). I've never used this kind before and just picked up a couple of boxes to try it out.

My issue is that some the casings were being ejected all over the place, a few bounced off my head, a couple on my arm, even had one come back and hit the side of my safety glasses......and I'm not sure if it was just the cheap ammo or if I am having an issue with the extractor that I've been reading up about. :confused: My G17 has a test fire date of 02/08/12 and the extractor is 30274. This was the first time that I practiced at the range(pretty enclosed area at this one), the first few times I've shot my 17 was out at my dad's ranch and hadn't noticed any problems like this, although I did notice that some casings were being ejected pretty much straight up in the air out there.

I've done a search thru the forums and with what I've read, I do believe that I will be calling Glock tomorrow and see about sending it in to get it checked out, due to there not being any Glock Armorers in my area. :(

I do have to say though, the 100 rounds of monarch all shot just fine...no problems whatsoever except for the weird ejections. ALTHOUGH, I hadn't noticed that this stuff was made in russia, probably why the ammo was so cheap, so I won't be buying this stuff anymore. I usually use Remington ammo but just picked this stuff up out of convenience. :eek:

Any input is appreciated, maybe someone will have a solution that I haven't found/read up on yet. ;)

Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  2. TurnerCop

TurnerCop New Member