Best shooting earmuffs???

Discussion in 'General Firearm Forum' started by glockdeerhunter, Sep 24, 2016.

1. glockdeerhunter

glockdeerhunter New Member

What are the best shooting earmuffs on the market.

2. rbbeers

rbbeers Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting Member

I have no idea...

That being said, of the earmuffs I own, my favorite is this one (which may be a bit pricey) and my second favorite is this one (which is much less expensive).

Best regards,

Bob :)

3. XIII

XIII New Member

Last edited: Sep 24, 2016
  4. ABeck88

ABeck88 Well-Known Member

NC

I have been using these for almost 4 years. They are comfortable, lightweight, and work well. I have never changed the batteries in mine!

5. GlockGuide

GlockGuide Active Member

So I use your second favorite (Impact Pro) for indoor range shooting and consider it's 30db the lowest I would go. Any chance the measurement isn't consistent - i.e. is the 3M 26db as good or better than the Impact Pro's 30db rating?

The Impact Pro's aren't the greatest technology but everyone I know who wears smaller electronic muffs also use foam ear protectors under them. Seems like that would defeat the purpose to me. I don't have to double up with the Impact Pro.

The Impact Pros don't work for me with long guns due to their size. But I only shoot those outdoors so I can use ear protection with a lower rating.

6. 40caljim

40caljim Active Member Supporter

7. ABeck88

ABeck88 Well-Known Member

NC

There is no standard for measuring db rating so every company does it a little different.

8. rbbeers

Personally, I really don't know :confused: ... my guess is ABeck88 is 'spot on'. :D

My ears tell me there's not much difference, if any, in the sound suppression between the two... both do a very good job. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

But, to me, there's a very notable difference in the quality of the amplified audio... which is why I prefer the 3M muffs (and may be why they're more pricey). ;)

Best regards,