Best CCW (IWB) holster

Discussion in 'Holsters and Cases' started by lxlate, Feb 19, 2012.

1. lxlate

lxlate New Member

I am new to shooting and carrying what would you recommend as a everyday holster?

2. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

@Lxlate (did I spell that right?):

Perhaps a reason you have not had any replies is because a person's choice of holster is an intensely personal choice. Given the basics that a holster must (1)cover the trigger guard and protect the trigger, and (2)somehow retain the weapon and prevent it from falling out, aside from that, the sky is the limit.

Personally, I am partial to Serpa holsters by Blackhawk. They have a positive retention system that requires you press with your trigger finger on the release tab, and as you draw the weapon from the holster, your trigger finger is correctly (safely) positioned on the frame above the trigger but outside of the trigger guard. With practice (lots of it by now!) I can draw and reholster my Glock without ever looking at the holster, and this is important: you do not take your eyes off of the threat as you unholster. I tell people (my opinion): if you need to look at your holster to draw it, you need to practice some more.

Unfortunately, Serpas are OWB (outside the waistband), so concealment requires I cover it with an outergarment. No problem in the winter, but it limits what I can wear in the summer. My love handles preclude my ever being comfortable with an IWB (inside the waistband) holster, of any kind.

MikeP, a Forum Member, has some sharp Kydex holsters for OWB, you can hit him up. Available for different Glocks and in different colors, too!

You may also want to specify a few more things: where are you located (this is related to whether or not you can legally CC -concealed carry, or like some, are doomed to OC -open carry), and what kinds of activities would you be doing with an "everyday holster". Just a friendly suggestion....

Shoot safe!

3. Tillerman