Barrel polishing help

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by cbk342, Mar 11, 2012.

1. cbk342

cbk342 New Member

This week I'm going to polish my g19 barrel ... I will use a vinegar soak for a few hours and make sure my bore is plugged so it doesn't get affected. Then I'll wash it with soap and water followed by a soft 414 felt dremel wheel with flits polish added to it. Final step will be a cleaning of barrel and bore.... Anyone have anything to add that I should do... I've never done it before and I don't wanna screw it up

2. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Never done this before, so nothing to add. Except....

Post pics when you're done, please, and narrate what you did and your impressions.

Thanks, and good luck to you!

3. cbk342

cbk342 New Member

Will do I forgot to mention I will do the pins and slide release as well it suks I have to order some flitz polish though so it could be awhile I'm gonna post before and after pics

4. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Our local Home Depot carries Flitz, in sachets and tubes.

5. iRockGlock

iRockGlock Well-Known Member

I'm also thinking of doing it to my G19 barrel. Good luck

6. I used mothers mag wheel polish on mine and it turned out great. I was a little worried about using the vinegar on mine. Didn't wanna use anything with acid in it. I used a dremel with polishing wheel and spent a lot of time by polishing by hand. I did everything you are doing now.

image-2196225040.jpg

image-3060078583.jpg

image-1935374002.jpg

7. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

Looks real good, Jkutrz!

8. Thank you!

9. cbk342

cbk342 New Member

Ya it does look good so u didn't use vinegar just the mag wheel polish with a dremel....? Any scratches or marks?

10. Happysniper1

Happysniper1 New Member

(As a side note.... keep coming back to Jkutrz's pics....that polished barrel looks real nice peeking out of the matte black slide....):D