Ar-15

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Glock_Guy199, May 5, 2012.

1. Glock_Guy199

Glock_Guy199 New Member

Anyone know where I can get mil spec lower receiver parts online? Also what would be a good upper I want to build my first AR so I'm new to this.

2. nyycanseco33

nyycanseco33 Well-Known Member Supporter

There's a couple experienced members here that have purchased parts and built AR's... HappySniper1 and another member here had a thread going regarding their builds and they may be a good start to get info from, I hope this helps you out :)

3. Where to start...haha. Just about every manufacturer sells lower parts kits. Armalite, DPMS, Bushmaster, CMMG, Stag Arms, Delton, LMT, etc etc etc. haha.(stay away from Colt though, as they use different trigger pin diameters). And as far as the upper goes, whats your flavor? There are so many different options for a build, its kind of a shot in the dark for someone to make a suggestion. Whats your price range and intended style? ie-carbine, mid length, full length. Heres a pic of my latest build-Frankensteined together CMMG M4 carbine utilizing magpul and troy industries furniture, LMT enhanced bolt, Geissele trigger group, etc. (more or less a surplus parts bin rifle)

Attached Files:

• 003.jpg
      003.jpg
      File size:
      40.3 KB
      Views:
  4. AverageCitizen

AverageCitizen New Member

My main question is will any lower you can buy at you gun shop of choice will it match up to any upper you can buy over the web or at the shop?

5. jonm61

jonm61 New Member

Basically, yes. You can't put a .308 upper on a .223 lower, because of the OAL of the rounds, for instance, so you do have to stick within what will fit in an AR15 lower vs. an AR10 lower.

Some may require some minor fitting or be a little looser than others.

Check out the attachment. It's older, but it still good.

Attached Files:

6. Argyle64

Argyle64 New Member

I would go with either Spikes or Palmetto.

7. KeenansGarage