Any Docs out there? Shooting while Pregnant?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by series11, Jun 7, 2012.

1. series11

series11 Hail Commifornia Lifetime Supporting Member

Just a question as I have been hearing yes and no, and being from the People's Republic of California the doctors are scared if you mention the word "Gun".:rolleyes:

2. TxShooter

TxShooter Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

We didn't do it, but it had more to do with lack of available time.

3. jonm61

jonm61 New Member

I'm not doctor, I don't play one on TV, and I didn't stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night. Once upon a time, long, long ago, in several states that are and are not far, far away, I was an EMT and a Hospital Corpsman in the Navy...

The big risk is lead. If you shoot lead free ammo, that would be better. Wear rubber gloves, and preferably long sleeves, when shooting. Wear rubber gloves when cleaning. Wear rubber gloves when handling ammo. Don't shoot bullets that aren't jacketed, including plated bullets, and the vast majority of .22s. Don't have long shooting sessions, especially at indoor ranges, unless they have some super-mega ventilation system. And really, even then, you're better off outside. Wear a mask, the kind of basic ones you'd wear for painting/sanding/etc. or that people with respiratory infections wear in hospitals.

Wash your hands and face immediately after shooting (before you leave the range, if possible) and don't forget neck, ears, etc...all exposed skin. Wash your hands after cleaning or handling guns/ammo. Do not touch your face with dirty hands. All of this is doubly important if you have any open cuts on your hands. When done with everything, shower to get the residue out of your hair.