American Eagle ammo

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by Glock897, Jun 6, 2012.

1. Glock897

Glock897 Member

Would you consider AE a good or average ammo. I'm trying to find a good ammo at a good price and stick with it rather than bouncing around.

2. I buy it when it's on sale and it's good ammo for general purpose shooting

3. runman

runman New Member

I bought a case of it and have shot about 600 rounds without a problem. Shoots fine, no clouds of gun powder and makes a fine hole in a piece of paper. I'm new at this, but I haven't been able to tell one brand of ammo is any dirtier than another (only used about three different brands) as I've heard others speak of. I would recommend it.

4. Captain

Captain New Member

IL
  5. DawgFan34

DawgFan34 New Member

I have shot it and it shoots fine. The only two I would stay away from is the Fiochi ammo as the powder is extremely dirty compared to others ,and the CCI Blazer ammo in the aluminum cases. I shoot a lot of the Georgia Arms ammo and it shoots good too. I can get at a decent price and shoots good. I buy it local no I pay no shipping but I get the "canned heat" of 500 rounds at a time. Look at www.georgia-arms.com

6. cvitter

cvitter New Member

I am getting American Eagle 9mm ammo for roughly $11 a box right now (when I buy 1000 rounds) which is pretty good. I haven't had any issues with the rounds but subjectively they might a be a little dirtier than some. I don't have any numbers to back that up. Overall for target shooting I go with the cheapest available brass (I give my empties to a friend who reloads).

7. n8tv

n8tv New Member

It's the only ammo I use in my 9mm and I use the 556 in my m4. I have had no problems at all. Also I get 50 rounds of 147 gr. for $9.00. Since my self defense ammo is 147 I like to shoot 147 for practice.

8. Oddball Gunner

Oddball Gunner New Member