Glock Firearms banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So is shoot a G19 gen 3 as many of you know for my EDC weapon, and I thought it would be interesting, with all the claims and statements out there about which is better (9mm, 40 S&W, or 45 ACP), to try and analyze it for myself...so I formulated a test, with the help of Tnoutdoors9 (his YouTube work is very informative BTW if you haven't checked it out before).

My goal is to see how different the three calibers are in reality when compared to my 9mm 147 grain HST standard pressure loads I carry for SD, and if i should be worried that I am carrying too small a caliber for SD. I should point out that I am no professional ballistics engineer or anything, I am however concerned that I choose the best round for my self defense, and for that reason have tried to review as many rounds as I can, and for me and my G19, the 147 HST standard pressure round provided the best expansion, and most control for follow up shots (when compared to a +P load) for all the available 9mm rounds out there, so that is the basis from which I am looking at this comparison.

So for fairness I am looking at the heavy for caliber load for each caliber, standard pressure rounds only, as well as the same Manufacturer's bullet so everything is the same other than caliber and weight...the idea being to test the standard pressure round that should have the best penetration for each caliber, rather than water down the 40 or 45 so the bullet weight is closer to the best penetrating round of the 9 mm. Tnoutdoors9 has tested the three rounds I am looking at with the same medium i.e. sim test media calibrated to match ballistic gelatin.

The cartridges are the Federal HST standard pressure rounds, and the results are quite interesting:
1. 9mm 147 Federal HST standard pressure shot from a 4" barrel:
- 1,006 fps average over 5 shots.
- 13.2" of penetration.
- 0.68" of expansion (5/8" diameter).