6 O'Clock... Not just beer-thirty...

Discussion in 'Holsters and Cases' started by Dewyz1100, May 5, 2012.

1. Dewyz1100

Dewyz1100 New Member

Forum newbie, and soon to be IWB newbie here...

What are everyone's thoughts on a 6 o'clock (perhaps 5) IWB carry position, and the holster options that would work best for this?

I am a fairly large frame guy... Six foot, 265lbs, and generally wear a baggy size 42 pair of jeans or cargo shorts... For several months since obtaining my CCL I have been attempting to find the most comfortable carry position and yet still provide a quick, natural draw...I am a right-handed shooter...Glock 23...

I have been mocking up carry positions the best I can without an IWB holster, and I believe that my beer-thirty "done-lap'd" gut and matching love handles would prove uncomfortable at best for any carry position at, or forward of said love handles... So the small of the back seems like the way to go...

I am leaning towards the MinoTaur MTAC for several reasons, however as evident with the attached picture, a traditional "right hand" holster in a six o'clock position may prove problematic as it seems like I would be reaching around the slide to get to the grip...

Naturally, my next thought was simply order a left hand model so that at the same six o'clock position the grip would be facing the right side of my body....

The only issue I see possibly as a problem with obtaining a "natural draw" would be that I would be drawing with my thumb on the outside of the weapon, and the rest of my fingers between the gun and my body...the complete opposite of a traditional 3 o'clock draw position with a right hand holster...

Concerning safety, at some point as I draw the weapon and ultimately bring the sights on target, the barrel may end up being pointed towards some part of my body during that draw. Again, a traditional 3 o'clock position would never give chance of this happening with a right hand holster...