.45 g.a.p

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by fireman06, Jan 25, 2012.

1. fireman06

fireman06 New Member

Um looking into buying a Glock soon but many in the future, but I love the Glock 21 and 23 thinking I'm going to get the 23 first. So my question is I see they have a 45 GAP in compact size? What does the gap stand for and any experience with it?

2. CDR_Glock

CDR_Glock Active Member

http://www.speer-bullets.com/pdf/45GAP Tech Brief_150dpi.pdf

I don't see an advantage unless you need the size savings.

Capacity is less than a Glock 30 which has 10+1.

3. The link didn't work for me.

I'm no expert on the GAP round, but I believe it stands for Glock Automatic Pistol. Basically, if I understand it correctly, it's a shorter .45 caliber round that is loaded to higher pressure to achieve power similar to the .45 ACP. (Automatic Colt Pistol.) It's not as common and I think I would stick with the .45 ACP if I were to buy a .45.

By the way, someone please correct me if I'm wrong about what the GAP is.

4. edesardi

edesardi New Member

Dustin, you got it right, I just bought a Glock 38, and love it. But I'm a reloader, so ammo is no big deal for me.

5. jonm61

jonm61 New Member

I have the G37 & 39. I love the round. It equals and often exceeds .45 ACP ballistics in a package that fits smaller hands better. It's a great shooting round and is going to become my primary carry shortly.

People complain about ammo availability and price, but all you have to do is look for it. Georgia Arms www.georgia-arms.com is, by far, the cheapest for FMJ and I found very good HP prices on http://www.ammunitiontogo.com/.

6. fls348

fls348 New Member

Correct. I might add I'm pretty sure the 45GAP frame is the size of the 9/40 frames and not the huge 20/21 frames. Finding ammo is a ***** though.....

7. trevolt

trevolt New Member

I have a G37 and love it. I never have had any problem finding ammo.

8. jonm61

jonm61 New Member