Glock Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
That is seriously awesome! Do you do it professionally or just your hobby?

·
Just One Glock
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for all the kudos. I don't do it professionally. I have been duracoating for 4 years or so and have been cerakoting for 3 or 4 months now. I've been at it so long and screwed up enought times that I get it right most of the time now!

·
Click Click Boom
45,268 Posts
Looks great! Nice job...

·
Just One Glock
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Do you prefer Duracoat or Cerakote and why?
I do like duracoat, and when the surface is properly prepped and the duracoat is given time to FULLY cure (3-4 weeks) duracoat is a great finish that will last a long time. You can use it after 24 hours, but the guns that get to fully cure, have finishes that hold up the best over time. I have seen this proven in many of the guns I have coated over the years.

All that being said, I like cerakote better. It air cures in 5 days or oven cures immediately and seems to me to be a more durable finish to everyday wear than duracoat.

Duracoat has more color options, but given a choice, I will go with cerakote.

·
Hiding in plain sight....
18,120 Posts
Good job! Looks great!

·
I have the body of a god........Budda
6,346 Posts
I do like duracoat, and when the surface is properly prepped and the duracoat is given time to FULLY cure (3-4 weeks) duracoat is a great finish that will last a long time. You can use it after 24 hours, but the guns that get to fully cure, have finishes that hold up the best over time. I have seen this proven in many of the guns I have coated over the years.

All that being said, I like cerakote better. It air cures in 5 days or oven cures immediately and seems to me to be a more durable finish to everyday wear than duracoat.

Duracoat has more color options, but given a choice, I will go with cerakote.